Coconut and cherry loaf

Some weeks are just made for cake.  Heck, most weeks are made for cake – but this week has really called out for it.  Family tag team of poorliness – check, tantrums a-plenty from littlest – check, numerous night-time wakings – check, miserable freezing cold weather – check check and triple bloody check.  I keep seeing inspirational photos on Instagram of the ‘summer bodies are made in the winter’ variety.  Or, ‘abs are made in the kitchen’ – accompanied by bronzed six pack shots.  Well, if this week is anything to go by my summer body will be deliciously carb-loaded and wobbly.  Who writes these stupid inspirational things?  Surely the little facebook/instgram/twitter ‘sayings’ are the modern day equivalent of those ridiculous motivational posters that appear in David Brent style offices? I have to say that nothing makes me reach for the ‘unfollow’ button quicker than a feed full of hilarrrrrrrrious or inspirational quotes.  They are inevitably neither.  No, I don’t want to know that there are no rainbows without any rain.  That isn’t going to have me skipping off on the piss-wet school run singing in the rain.  No,  there will be no rainbow at 3pm in the grey skies of Manchester.  What there will be is lots of cold and wet pissed off parents at the school gates and what you’ll have is one less follower. Stop. Now.

So to improve my mood – have you noticed that I’m in a bit of a bad mood?  I hide it so well – I am baking a coconut and cherry loaf.  I made this last month to my own invented recipe because I couldn’t find one that I liked the look at.  It turned out so well – really really moist even after a couple of days.  BUT, I didn’t write down the recipe very precisely – when I looked back at what I had scrawled I had used a rather jumbled mish mash of 0z/gram/ml which wasn’t really helpful to anyone.  So I’ve made it again today and actually put pen to paper in a meaningful fashion.

The first time I made this I had a large bag of white chocolate buttons lurking around in the cupboard and I popped these on top of the cake about 5 mins before the end of cooking time.  I haven’t done that today but you could do that with choc chips, buttons or wait for it to cool down and add some icing.  Today I have melted some dark chocolate and drizzled that on top then sprinkled it with some left over coconut.

Recipe 

170g butter or marg

170g caster sugar

60g dessicated coconut

115g SR flour

2 eggs

50g chunk of solid coconut cream dissolved in 100ml of hot water  (This is the secret moistening ingredient – it also tastes really yummy)

Glace cherries (I used about half a container of them)

1tsp vanilla extract

Method

I used the Kitchen Aid to make this but you could use food processor or by hand.  Cream together the butter and sugar.  Add the coconut cream, vanilla extract and eggs and mix.  Mix in flour and coconut.  Pour into a lined loaf tin.  The batter will be pretty runny, it’s supposed to be.

Scatter the cherries on top and put in the oven 180c for 40 minutes.

Cool on rack, ice if desired and then slice and munch.

Enjoy!

 

20140131-134802.jpg

20140131-134814.jpg

20140131-134920.jpg

One thought on “Coconut and cherry loaf

Leave a Reply

