Pulled pork with apple and thyme

Over on my previous blog tamsinsworld I seem to have introduced a lot of my friends to the joy that is pulled pork.  It’s porky, its’s soft, doesn’t require too much chewing, can be dumped in the slow cooker for many many hours and forgotten about, it feeds many hungry mouths and then keeps feeding many hungry mouths in the form of leftovers for days.  What’s not to like?  Well unless you’re a vegetarian.  Or Muslim.  Or Jewish.  In which case, sorry my friends this recipe is not for you.

Incidentally, it’s reasonably bizarre that lots of people seem to mainly stumble accross my blog because of this recipe as for quite a while after having Corey I couldn’t stomach pork at all.  I don’t know what it was but something about the taste of pork reminded me of giving birth.  How weird.  Even bacon was a struggle.  Utterly bonkers and then once I had Mitch it was open season on the pork front again.

The original pulled pork recipe I came up with can be found here – it’s a cracker of a recipe folks.  Spicy, bbq type taste – a sure fire hit with all I have given it to.  Except of course for my own children. They still react to even a smidgen of spice with horrified faces, lots of screams and then whimper ‘you poisoned me mumy’.  So when I cook that one I tend to just give them the side dishes instead.

But as Corey is now finally coming out of his vegetarian phase I have come up with a more kid friendly version.  I originally posted it here – but in case you can’t be bothered to click through the link here is the recipe in all it’s porky yumminess.

Pulled pork with apple and thyme 

3 x apples peeled, cored and chopped

2 x cloves of garlic chopped chunky

1 x onion chopped

fresh thyme sprigs

1 bay leaf

250 ml apple juice

zest and juice of half a lemon

1 tbsp white wine or cider vinegar

1.5 kg ish joint of pork shoulder – with ALL the fat and skin trimmed off.  A messy job to cut it all off but I find the end product is way too greasy otherwise.

Put all the apple, onion, garlic, lemon, herbs in the slow cooker then top with the pork joint – add the apple juice and vinegar and top with a bay leaf.  Cook away on a low setting for around 8 hours.

After that take the pork out of the liquid and shred with a couple of forks and put in a covered container to keep warm until ready to eat.

Today I am serving this as a roast dinner so I whack the slow cooker onto high – add about 400 ml boiling water and a few generous spoonfuls of gravy powder (my favourite is bisto best beef) and then stir and use my hand held blender to make it smooth. Really yum gravy.

If I was serving it as a more informal dinner I would have just blitzed it as was (ie not added any extra liquid and just made an apple/onion/pork juice sauce) that would be nice on rolls etc.

I’m hoping that this will leave loads and loads of leftovers as tomorrow I’m making it into fajitas and then the next day a pulled pork and bean chili for us all (without actual chili in the boys’ portions!’)

Enjoy – and have a great Sunday!

20140427-090719.jpg

Leave a Reply

